My Case

iTicket.law - Powered by Hatley Law Office

5.0 ★★★★★
1,037+ Reviews On

Entries for tag "defense"

What is the worst penalty for a DWI conviction in NC?

north carolina driving while impaired dwi attorney.jpg

The worst penalty for a conviction of Driving While Impaired in North Carolina, Attorney Benson says, is 36 months in prison and a $10,000 fine when you have a 3rd DWI conviction in 10 years. It's considered Habitual Impaired Driving. This conviction is considered a felonly and you lose your license for life and there are no appeals allowed by the NC DMV. 


Continue reading »

Why Choose Hatley Law Office to Handle your DWI Charge?

iTIcket.law Traffic Lawyers and Admin team

Receiving a Driving While Impaired (DWI) charge in North Carolina can be one of the most stressful times of your life. The next morning, you don't know where to turn and don't know where to start to try to pick up the pieces or seek out legal options.

If you hire Hatley Law Office, we will work to reduce or eliminate the damage that a conviction of Driving ...

Continue reading »

Penalties for Marijuana Related Charges in North Carolina

marijuana defense attorney

A major factor in North Carolina with regards to marijuana and paraphernalia possession penalties is whether you've had a prior conviction or not. NC has a structured system for sentencing. Your punishment could increase if you have a criminal record.

  • Class 3 Misdemeanor: For first time offenses, you can be sentenced to serve one to ten days in jail. However, you could possibly be sentenced to community service, probation ...
Continue reading »

What are North Carolina Marijuana Laws?

Police Officer Marijuana Handcuffs

Under North Carolina state law, marijuana is treated differently than other controlled substances. The NC Commission for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services classifies narcotic drugs into different "schedules," which are based on the potential for abuse and the safety of the drug.

Marijuana and synthetic cannabinoids are in a class of their own, Schedule IV. The law states that "there is a need for further and continuing ...

Continue reading »

What does a conviction of Driving While Impaired (DWI) look like?

Wake County traffic court in Raleigh NC

In North Carolina, there are now 6 levels of sentences for Driving While Impaired since Laura's Law was enacted in 2011. Laura's Law introduced the most severe mandatory sentencing for the most serious offenders of aggravated level one convictions.

Level 2, Level 1, and Level A1 sentences all require jail time. These sentences are imposed often when the state is able to show 1, 2, or more than ...

Continue reading »