Types of Limited Driving Privileges in North Carolina for DWI
Published on 04/17/2018
There are countless variations of limited driving privileges in North Carolina. After being charged with DWI, there are some specific "LDP's" that may be most applicable. Attorney Tyler Benson, iTicket.law's Lead DWI Defense Attorney says that there our office can assist with many of the DMV and license issues related to a driving while impaired charge and conviction. From NC DMV hearings to dispute issues such as willful refusal of a breath test, our firm can petition the court for a limited driving privilege. Common LDP's include:
- Standard Impaired Driving Limited Driving Privilege: For the year following conviction, this would allow a driver to drive during standard 6:00am to 8:00pm hours, Monday through Friday. Other hours may be approved as well.
- Willful Refusal Limited Driving Privilege: If you refuse a chemical test and have served a 6 month suspension, this would allow for a limited privilege for one year.
- Interlock Limited Driving Privilege: After a 45 day suspension for a conviction of DWI with a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, this would allow a limited privilege with a properly installed ignition interlock device for one year.