How to Pay Off an NC Speeding Ticket Online
Published on 10/24/2022
You’re running late for work, and there are barely any cars on the highway. You think to yourself, “It wouldn’t hurt to speed a little just this once.” But the traffic gods are not on your side. Before you know it, the men in blue are behind you, flashing those blue lights. You have yourself a speeding ticket. What next?
If you leave your speeding ticket unattended, you risk piling up fines and increasing your insurance rate, among other things. You may not be able to afford to let this happen. Learn below how to pay off a North Carolina speeding ticket.
What You Should Do When You Get a Speeding Ticket in North Carolina
When most people get a speeding ticket in NC, their first thought is to pay the ticket as soon as possible. However, while this may seem like an excellent move, it may not be in your best interest.
Paying for your speeding ticket means you’re pleading guilty to the offense. More often than not, this will affect your insurance rate and may even lead to having your license revoked in some cases. Don’t make this mistake. Before you pay for the speeding ticket, speak with an experienced NC traffic law attorney.
Depending on your case, an attorney can help you get your charges reduced or even dismissed. So, before you pull out that wallet to pay for a speeding ticket in NC, consult one of our attorneys, and they’ll look at your case and advise you on the way forward.
How to Pay Off Your Ticket
If after speaking with an attorney and determining you still want to simply pay off your ticket, rather than appearing in court or having an attorney appear in court for you, how can you make the payment? You have a few options:
- Online: If you want to pay off your ticket online you can visit the NC Judicial Branch website to see if you are eligible for online payment.
- In person: You also have the option of pleading guilty and making your payment at the clerk’s office no later than your court date. If you try to pay for the ticket after your court date has passed, you may incur a penalty. In some cases, a warrant for your arrest may be issued depending on your case.
- By mail: You can also mail a cashier’s check or money order payable to the Clerk of Superior Court for the amount shown on your citation.
Remember that whichever method you choose, it’s advisable to speak to a lawyer before making a payment. Any payment before your court date is an admission of guilt and may harm your insurance rate or license.
What Happens if You Don’t Pay for Your Speeding Ticket?
What if you decide to ignore the ticket and not make any payments? Are there consequences?
Yes. If you fail to appear in court, the judge will report your failure to appear to the NC DMV after 20 days have passed. On the other hand, if you fail to make the payment ordered by the judge after appearing in court, the judge will report your failure to pay to the NC DMV after 40 days.
The NC DMV will revoke your license for failure to appear or pay for your ticket until you:
- Dispose of the charge
- Demonstrate to the court that you’re not the person charged
- Pay the amount payable
- Demonstrate to the court that your failure to pay was not willful and make a good faith effort to pay
You can avoid getting your license revoked by resolving the case before the revocation goes into effect.
Source: North Carolina Judicial Branch
The question of how to pay for a speeding ticket in NC can be confusing if you’re new to NC or have little experience with the online platform. Luckily, the steps we’ve outlined are all you need to make your payment.
If you have any further questions about making speeding ticket payments, consult iTicket.law attorneys today, and they’ll address all your queries.