After receiving a ticket, it may seem easier to simply pay the ticket online. Sometimes, the citing officer will even advise that you should pay your ticket to avoid going to court. While the officer may be well-meaning, it is unwise to take the advice of the person who has has just written you a ticket! Paying off your speeding ticket in most cases is a very bad idea. It’s highly advisable that you speak to a traffic lawyer before paying your ticket. Depending on your circumstances, it may be possible to seek a reduction, or even a dismissal, of your traffic citation.
Unbeknownst to many drivers, North Carolina has some of the most punitive (harsh) traffic laws in the country. Even lower level speeding violations can sometimes lead to a revocation of your drivers license. Before paying your ticket, it’s vital that you seek legal counsel from a Scotland County speeding ticket attorney to make sure you aren’t accidentally pleading guilty to an offense that might cause a revocation of your driving privilege or a drastic increase to your family's NC auto insurance premium.
Scotland County Court Costs & Fines
When considering how to handle a ticket, you may find it compelling to look at the amount listed as due on the ticket as the only cost involved. To be fair, while the court costs and fines involved for your speeding ticket are expensive (ranging between $188 and $238 on average - $188 court costs plus $30–50 for the speeding fine itself), they're not unbearable. That said, these fees/fines are only the tip of the iceberg.
Aside from the court costs and fines, simply paying your ticket can result in devastating consequences. By paying your ticket, you are admitting guilt, which could potentially lead to license revocation or an increase of your insurance costs. While we would like to believe that the State of North Carolina would warn you before allowing you to make a decision that could suspend your driver’s license, give you a criminal record, and increase your auto insurance premium 80% or more over the next three years, that's not always the case. Our team of traffic attorneys are experienced in seeking the best outcome to avoid insurance increases and license suspensions.
How does a traffic conviction affect my NC insurance costs?
|Traffic Violation Conviction||License Points||Insurance Points||rate increase|
|Speeding 76 mph in a 65 mph zone||3||4||90%|
|Speeding 82 mph in a 70 mph zone||3||4||90%|
|Passing a stopped school bus||5||4||90%|
|Running stop sign/red light||3||1||40%|
|Driving While License Revoked||3||8||200%|
How to pay your Scotland County speeding ticket
With all of this in mind, if you have a “waivable” traffic ticket and want to handle it without involving an attorney, you can pay the fine online (payNCticket), by mail, or in person within the time frame outlined on the citation. Paying off your ticket is not possible if you have a “non-waivable” traffic ticket. You must either appear for yourself or hire an attorney to appear for you. While we feel our representation is incredibly valuable in resolving almost any citation, this is especially true in the case of “non-waivable” offenses.
What to Know
If you aren't sure what the North Carolina Department of Insurance rules are regarding your citation or what the Department of Motor Vehicle impact may be, it would be beneficial to take advantage of our hassle-free consultation. Our friendly staff and knowledgeable attorneys will point you in the right direction - whether it's okay to pay off your ticket or if it's best to seek a reduction in your case.
If you'd like to learn more about how accidents and traffic tickets impact your auto insurance, click to view the NC Safe Driver Incentive Plan.
While receiving a citation is certainly stressful, at iTicket.law we want to make it as painless as possible. With offices all over the state and an innovative online process, we aim to be your go to solution, no matter where you are. iTicket.law - bringing the legal industry into the 21st century.